General Election 2023: Results for State Senators and Assembly in New Jersey

The entire New Jersey Legislature is up for election on Tuesday as incumbents and challengers battle for all 120 seats in the state’s Senate and General Assembly.

MORE: Atlantic City Electric workers are on strike after contract negotiations failed to reach an agreement

Each state legislative district is represented by one senator and two representatives, meaning everyone who goes to the polls on November 7th will vote for three representatives. Here you can find more information about the races in the nine counties that represent South Jersey, including all candidates in the race. Before you vote, be sure to check your voting district – the legislative map was redrawn this year, slightly changing the boundaries of New Jersey’s 40 counties.

New Jersey Legislature District 1

New Jersey’s 1st Legislative District includes all of Cape May County and portions of Cumberland and Atlantic counties. Senator Michael Testa Jr.another Republican, is running for re-election against the Democratic newcomer Charles Laspata.

MPs Antwan McClellan And Erik Simonsenboth of whom are Republicans are being challenged by the Democrats Eddie Bonner And Damita White Morris.

New Jersey Legislature District 2

The state’s Second District is also currently controlled by Republicans and covers much of Atlantic County. Caren Fitzpatrickthe two-term Democratic commissioner for Atlantic City, and Shawn Pecka libertarian mortgage lender, wants to crash Senator Vincent PolistinA

On the Assembly side, the incumbents Claire Swift And Donald Guardian are running against Democratic candidates Lisa Bender And Alphonso Harrell.

New Jersey Legislature District 3

When Senator Ed Durr, a truck driver who had never held elected office, launched a campaign in 2021 against Stephen Sweeney, the state’s longtime Democratic Senate leader, and few expected him to win. But in a major surprise, the Republican candidate ousted the incumbent. He will now defend his seat against the Democratic challenger John Burzichellia former state representative.

Thomas Tedesco Jr.a Republican, is seeking the seat vacated by Rep. Beth Sawyer Bethanne McCarthy Patrick, another Republican, is seeking re-election. They will turn themselves in Heather Simmons And Dave Bailey Jr. in the race for New Jersey’s Third District, which includes parts of Cumberland and Gloucester counties and all of Salem County.

New Jersey Legislature District 4

New Jersey’s Fourth Legislative District is currently controlled by Democrats and represents parts of Camden and Gloucester counties. Senator Fred Madden announced his retirement this spring after 20 years in office, leaving the state Senate race wide open. This includes Democratic candidates Paul MoriartyRepublican candidate Christopher Del Borrello and third conservative candidate Giuseppe Costanzowhich some call “Phantom candidate.”

The Assembly race is also a contest pitting Democrats against everyone Dan Hutchison And Cody Millerrepublican Matthew Walker And Amanda Esposito and conservative Maureen Dukes Penrose.

New Jersey Legislature District 5

The state’s Fifth District includes portions of Camden and Gloucester counties. Senator Nilsa Cruz-Pereza Democrat, will defend her seat against the Republican nominee Clyde Cook and third-party candidate for “Rights Tranquility Peace.” Mohammad Kabir.

MPs William Spearman And William Moen Jr.the incumbent Democrats will face Republican challengers Joe Miller And Yalinda Pagan.

New Jersey Legislature District 6

The Sixth Legislative District covers parts of Burlington and Camden counties and is currently governed by Democrats. Senator James Beachthe deputy majority leader, will seek re-election against the Republican challenger Mark Doogan.

On the Assembly side, Republican candidates Brian McRory And Danielle Barry I’ll try to get out of the place Louis Greenwald And Pamela Lampitt.

New Jersey Legislature District 7

New Jersey’s seventh legislative district covers part of Burlington County. Sde. Troy Singletonthe Democratic incumbent, is running against the Republicans James Fazzone, the former mayor of Burlington.

Herb Conaway Jr. And Carol Murphy, both Democrats, are also seeking new terms in Parliament. They will run against the Republicans Douglas Dillon And Eileen Bleistine.

New Jersey Legislature District 8

The Senate race for New Jersey’s 8th Legislative District is on everyone’s minds as former Senator Jean Stanfield has announced she will not seek re-election. I’m looking for her seat Latham Tivera Republican, and Gaye Burtona democrat.

MPs Brandon Moda and Michael Torrissi Jr.both Republicans, are being challenged by Democratic candidates Andrea Katz And Anthony Angelozzi.

New Jersey Legislature District 9

With the retirement of Senator Christopher Connors, who succeeded his father Leonard Connors, voters in the state’s 9th District will elect its first senator from outside the Connors family tree since 1981. Republican candidate Carmen Amato Jr. and Democratic candidate Gabriel Franco will vie for the position.

MPs Brian Hull, a Republican, is the only incumbent seeking re-election. The other candidates in this race include Democrats Joseph Atura And Sarah Collins and Republicans Gregory Myrre. The district includes portions of Atlantic, Bergen and Ocean counties.

Follow Kristin & PhillyVoice on Twitter: @kristin_hunt
| @thePhillyVoice
Like us on Facebook: PhillyVoice
Do you have a news tip? Let us know.

Linh is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button